UGC National Eligibility Test English Syllabus

UGC National Eligibility Test English Syllabus
Subject : English

The UGC-NET will be conducted in objective mode from June 2012 onwards. The
Test will consist of three papers. All the three papers will consist of only objective type questions and will be held on the day of Examination in two separate sessions.

Session I

Paper I ( general compulsory objective paper)
Questions: 60 out of which 50 questions are to be attempted
Marks: 50x2 = 100
Time: 1¼ Hours (09.30 a.m. to 10.45 a.m.) 

Paper – II

Note: It will cover 50 Objective Type Questions (Multiple choice, Matching type, True / False, Assertion – Reasoning type) carrying 100 marks.

Paper II
Questions:  50 questions all of which are compulsory
Marks: 50x2 = 100
Time: 1¼ Hours (10.45 a.m. to 12.00 Noon.)
Questions Covers:

1.     Chaucer to Shakespeare
2.     Jacobean to Restoration Periods
3.     Augustan Age : 18th Century Literature
4.     Romantic Period
5.     Victorian Period
6.     Modern Period
7.     Contemporary Period
8.     American and other non – British Literatures
9.     Literary Theory and Criticism
10.    Rhetoric and Prosody
11.     Linguistics
12.    Comparative Literature
Paper  – III
(The Commission decided that Paper-III be converted into objective type from the ensuing examination scheduled in June 2012. Further, the Commission also recommended that the action may also be initiated for the development of question banks. There should be 75 Objective Questions covering the history of English Literature and Critical Approaches. Link @ UGC)

Questions: 75 questions all of which are compulsory.
Marks: 75x2 = 150
Time: 2½ Hours (01.30 p.m. to 04.00 p.m.)

Literature, language skills and reading comprehension, arithmetic literary
data computation and problem solving, Linguistics,
and social studies.

Post a Comment